ESL, Uncategorized

How to Earn $35 / Hour Teaching English Online

Designed by luis_molinero / Freepik

Are you looking for a part time job that you could do from the comfort of your own home that also pays well?

I might have a solution for you.

There is a huge demand for English Teachers in China. You can read my blog post about 5 Reasons to Teach English In China. Not everyone can or wants to go and move all the way to China though. For those there is the option of teaching English online. The benefits of working from home are great. You don’t have to leave your house, so you don’t have to spend money on gas. You don’t “waste” any time driving around either. This leaves you more time to do the things you love.

There are countless companies offering Online English Tutoring. Most Companies pay something between $19-25 for one hour of teaching. One of the companies I have experience with offer as much as $37 after the 6 month probation period. The classes are regularly 25 min long and the lesson plans are provided for you. Usually the companies offering Online English Classes have an application process for teachers which sometimes include an interview and a demo class. The demo class is quite easy to pass. You just have to be prepared, quite animated and follow the plan (which some of the companies provide for you).

Designed by Pressfoto / Freepik

Most of these Online English Tutor companies also usually offer training for the new teacher. The training happens on your computer and is usually few hours a day for about 3 days. After you pass the training and the demo class number 2 that follows you are ready to start teaching.

It is a really easy job if you have basic computer skills.

The lesson plans usually consist of pictures, videos songs and animations. You won’t need to get any fancy or expensive equipment or material. All you need is a high speed internet, headset with a microphone and a mouse. Some teachers like me may prefer to use a little portable white board when they teach.

Work Part Time

The companies normally offer minimum of about 12-16 hours of work per week. The work hours are usually 6pm-10pm Beijing time.

EST 6am-10am

CST 5am – 9am

MST 4am –  8am

PST 3am – 7am

Hawaii 1am-5am

On Saturdays and Sundays 9am-10pm Beijing Time

EST 8pm – 9am

CST 7pm – 8am

MST 6pm – 7am

PST 5pm – 6am

Hawaii 3pm – 4am

 

Teaching English Online is a great part time job for those looking for extra income.

 

Designed by Dragana_Gordic / Freepik

 

Companies that offer Online English Tutoring

VIPkid

DaDaABC

51talk

Funbulous

Please follow and like us: